newbie: frustrated

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
hehcsh

newbie: frustrated

Post by hehcsh » Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:47 am

I am on my 3rd evening with a ComfortCurve nasal mask and machine plus humidifier. I am completely new to this. I hate it. I threw the mask off the first night, in distress. I am a side-sleeper, and was once a mouth-breather. I can't tell when a leak is unacceptable or not (and hence fuss with the mask all night), or when I am sleeping better, or even when I have slept well or not. I started with a FF mask, but in hurt my nose so much I gave it up. The comfort curve seems better, although I have trouble getting it to seal.

Will someone tell me this will all be worth it? How many masks will I have to try?

oldgearhead

Post by oldgearhead » Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:52 am

Oh, I think the answer to your second question is 3 or 4. The answer to your first question is: Yes you will feel better after a few nights of xPAP.
Furthermore, you might head off a couple of other aliments..

sir_cumference

Post by sir_cumference » Mon Jul 17, 2006 11:58 am

Sorry to say, but it takes time to get the right mask for you. There are so many factors and so many masks to try, you just have to do your research and try out different masks.

I have been through 5 or 6 and now just use the same one every night (breeze with nasal inserts) I am a side sleeper and it works really well for me. But some like the swift etc. I guess you need to ask yourself a few questions about the way you sleep - for example do you mouth breath? I guess not if you use the CC.

Don't give up, the difference it can make to your life is worth a few weeks of frustration let alone a few nights.

My suggestions is you start mask research in earnest.
sir_c

Wulfman

Post by Wulfman » Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:00 pm