How to prevent pressure leakage through lips

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
peterorr

How to prevent pressure leakage through lips

Post by peterorr » Fri May 25, 2012 4:03 pm

I'm new to CPAP and started out with just a nose mask. I do not have a problem with mouth breathing while asleep or having my mouth fall open, but with my prescribed CPAP air pressure air would leak out through my lips even though my mouth was tightly closed. That forced me into using a full face mask, which I am having trouble adjusting to. For folks who have experienced this problem I was wondering whether a standard mouth guard (not the type specifically designed to modify the jaw position) works to keep air from leaking out between the lips. If not, anyone know of any other trick to solve this problem? A chin strap obviously does not address this problem.

nanwilson

Re: How to prevent pressure leakage through lips

Post by nanwilson » Fri May 25, 2012 4:10 pm

A full face mask is for breathing through your nose OR mouth, no difference. The only time you have to worry about mouth breathing or lip fluttering is if you are wearing a nose only mask. Nose only mask you breath in through your nose and the good therapy goes out your mouth if you can't keep it closed. With a full face mask you can breath with either mouth or nose or both....that is what a ffm is for. If you want to use a nose only mask you must use a chin strap or tape, a mouth guard doesn't work...I have one and all it is good for is to keep you from grinding your teeth in your sleep.
Started cpap in 2010.. still at it with great results.

Pugsy

Post by Pugsy » Fri May 25, 2012 4:25 pm