Do I need BIPAP?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
jbn3boys

Do I need BIPAP?

Post by jbn3boys » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:24 am

I've been using my machine for about 2 1/2 months now. My average AHI is nearly 7, with nightly averages as high as 12 just in the last few weeks. Pressures are running around 10-11, with peaks greater than 15. Most nights I am experiencing central apneas, based on the Encore Viewer reports. Some nights the centrals are quite high. Leaks are well controlled, and I don't have any problems using the machine. However, I feel absolutely no better now than I did before starting on cpap therapy.

I just received my full polysonogram report in the mail this last week. I was shocked to find out that they actually had me on bipap for the final few hours of my sleep study/titration. They noted that at a pressure setting of 11 that I was still having hypopneas, so they switched me to bipap. (I can't remember the settings, and I don't have the report in front of me at the moment.) It was during the bipap time that I actually experienced my only extended periods of REM sleep. I had zero rem during the first part of the sleep study (before pap), and only one very short REM period on pap. But once they switched me to bipap, I had a significant amount of rem. However, the recommendation was still for cpap therapy, and not bipap.

Should I be asking to be switched to bipap, based on the sleep study report (specifically in regard to the rem stage) and the fact that I am still not feeling rested? If so, who should I be contacting first? My RT at my DME (who is very good), my PCP, who Rx'd the cpap machine, but really doesn't know much about them, or the sleep doc, who only read the results, but has never seen me? If I need to make this change, I'd like to do it as soon as possible, so all the kinks can get ironed out before the end of the year. (DH's company is switching our insuance coverage startin Jan 1st.)