Blowing air Temperature and Humidity

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Papit

Blowing air Temperature and Humidity

Post by Papit » Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:01 pm

Here's an observation about whether or not the blowing air temperature and humidity are important for comfort and compliance.
Would like to hear opinions and thoughts from others on the topic.

Just came back from a ten-day trip to a climate that was 70 - 80 degrees F. with humidity consistently in the high 60s - 75% RH range. We kept the indoor temperature set to about 73 - 74 degrees F. I assume the indoor humidity was about 65% or so as air conditioning did not have to kick in much at our set room temperature and doors were frequently opened and closed.

I took my CPAP, but left my H5i humidifier at home (northern Virginia) where current temperature indoors is kept about 70 - 71 degrees F. and humidity indoors is about 29%. For the past two months as a newbie, I have always used the humidifier. It came with the package.

During the trip, I noticed no difference in comfort or anything else while using CPAP without the H5i humidifier away from home. The humidity and temperature in the room for ten days was not much different from what we keep it set at home, although outdoor temperature and humidity were much much higher on this trip.