New person- with LOTS of questions!

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
ciounoi

New person- with LOTS of questions!

Post by ciounoi » Mon Aug 18, 2008 4:31 pm

Hi there-

I was diagnosed with OSA just a few weeks ago. I originally went to the sleep clinic because I would actually stop breathing BEFORE I fell asleep, and that was keeping me up all night. I have mild/moderate OSA (15.1 episodes per hour), and would love to get my bipap and start sleeping better!

However, I have a number of questions and one big dilemma. The dilemma first.

Up until July 31st, I was on my parents' health insurance plan, since I am still a college student. However, since I turned 23 last month, I became ineligible for the plan and am now on the student health insurance plan, which states explicitly that it does not cover treatment, diagnosis, or supplies for sleep disorders. Luckily, I got most of my diagnostics and sleep studies out of the way in June/July, however, I am now pretty much in insurance limbo. I originally thought that I needed a CPAP and was willing to pay out of pocket for it (they have a very basic 300 dollars model). However, after the sleep study I was told that I need a bipap model- which will cost over 3000 dollars, including mask and supplies. As stated before, my insurance will not cover this. If I find a new insurance plan to cover it, I'm sure that there will be some kind of pre-existing conditions statute. Does anyone have any advice as to what to do in this situation? I live in PA, if that is a help.

My doctor said that my apnea is moderate, but it only JUST squeaked by from the mild range. I am definately sleepy during the day, but nothing extreme. My main problem is that I get sleepy very early in the evening- I'm ready for bed by 8 PM, although I never actually go to sleep at that point.