reprogram settings on cpap

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
sandybeach
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:08 pm

reprogram settings on cpap

Post by sandybeach » Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:35 pm

After completing a month long autp-pap titration, the Dr says i should change my setting to a 10. I am currently using 7, on a Res-Med c-series Tango, with Swift Mirage II nasal pillow. Does anyone know how to change the setting, so I can avoid schlepping the long drive to the medical supply store? I am anxious to get started with the correct setting. Didnt realize what a difference the settings make, but I am much more tired now that I don't have the rental auto-pap working for me. Although I am prob. in the minority here is saying I hated that APAP thing!! It whined, and listening to my inhales and exhales drove me nuts, to the point I obscessed about my breathing pattern. It should come naturally. The sound of the machine and exhalation even woke up my normally "sleep thru anything" husband! But I digress. I am happy to get my quiet cpap back in action, but NEED the higher setting for proper sleep. If anyone know how to re-set the Res-Med Tango, please speak up! Thanks


_________________
Mask: Mirage Swift™ II Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: ResMed C-series Tango c-pap

User avatar
ww
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:58 am

Post by ww » Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:05 pm

I don't have this type of machine, but this article may help you. They also have links to the clinical manuals, which you should download.

http://www.cpap-supply.com/Articles.asp?ID=130
Good Luck. You probably just save $20 of gasoline!!!

_________________
Machine: S9 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine
Mask: Ultra Mirage™ Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Humidifier: S9™ Series H5i™ Heated Humidifier with Climate Control
Additional Comments: Titrated 7 cm APAP set at 9/16 cm: Only licensed medical professionals can give medical advice or write prescriptions

sandybeach
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:08 pm

reprogram settings on cpap

Post by sandybeach » Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:58 pm

Thanks WW, but that site did not list my machine. Guess I will have to wait to hear from the DME, and hopefully they can help me with instructions over the phone , and save me a trip there.


_________________
Mask: Mirage Swift™ II Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: ResMed C-series Tango c-pap

sleepymagoo
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 11:17 am

Re: reprogram settings on cpap

Post by sleepymagoo » Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:23 pm

sandybeach wrote:After completing a month long autp-pap titration, the Dr says i should change my setting to a 10. I am currently using 7, on a Res-Med c-series Tango, with Swift Mirage II nasal pillow. Does anyone know how to change the setting, so I can avoid schlepping the long drive to the medical supply store? I am anxious to get started with the correct setting. Didnt realize what a difference the settings make, but I am much more tired now that I don't have the rental auto-pap working for me. Although I am prob. in the minority here is saying I hated that APAP thing!! It whined, and listening to my inhales and exhales drove me nuts, to the point I obscessed about my breathing pattern. It should come naturally. The sound of the machine and exhalation even woke up my normally "sleep thru anything" husband! But I digress. I am happy to get my quiet cpap back in action, but NEED the higher setting for proper sleep. If anyone know how to re-set the Res-Med Tango, please speak up! Thanks


I have a Resmend 8 Elite and I just simultaneously press the right and the bottom buttons to get into the clinicians menu. You can read your AHI, AI, HI, leakage, pressure, etc, there, and if you go to settings within the clinicians menu you will be able to change settings, including pressure.

sleepymagoo

_________

CPAPopedia Keywords Contained In This Post (Click For Definition): mirage, nasal pillow, swift, Titration, CPAP, auto, APAP

_________________
MaskSoftware

User avatar
ww
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 11:58 am

Re: reprogram settings on cpap

Post by ww » Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:33 pm

[quote="sandybeach"]Thanks WW, but that site did not list my machine. Guess I will have to wait to hear from the DME, and hopefully they can help me with instructions over the phone , and save me a trip there.


_________________
Machine: S9 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine
Mask: Ultra Mirage™ Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Humidifier: S9™ Series H5i™ Heated Humidifier with Climate Control
Additional Comments: Titrated 7 cm APAP set at 9/16 cm: Only licensed medical professionals can give medical advice or write prescriptions

User avatar
Slinky
Posts: 11414
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: Mid-Michigan

Post by Slinky » Tue Jun 10, 2008 6:38 pm

Yup, what WW said.

_________________
Mask: Quattro™ FX Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: PR SystemOne BPAP Auto w/Bi-Flex & Humidifier - EncorePro 2.2 Software - Contec CMS-50D+ Oximeter - Respironics EverFlo Q Concentrator
Women are Angels. And when someone breaks our wings, we simply continue to fly.....on a broomstick. We are flexible like that.
My computer says I need to upgrade my brain to be compatible with its new software.