Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:20 am

Hello,
I need your advice regarding this. I installed Sleepyhead on my Mac and managed to run my Cpap data successfully through it. I am still reading Pugsy points to learn how to interpret its results. I got also CMS 50+D oximeter. I managed also to set it up for recording and reading. I installed the spo2 assistant on my other pc and it read the oximeter. However, I prefer to use my Mac. When I tried to read its data by sleepyhead, the oximeter was not identified by sleepyhead. I installed the recommended driver too. I tried different cables too.
I am not sure what I missed.

_________________
MachineMask

User avatar
palerider
Posts: 17841
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2009 5:43 pm
Location: Dallas(ish).
Contact:

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by palerider » Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:48 am

Amany55 wrote:. I tried different cables too.
I am not sure what I missed.

You have to use the cable that came with the 50d+

It's *NOT* a usb cable, it just looks like one, it's got a chip in the head that turns the raw serial data from the oximeter into usb data.

_________________
Mask: AirFit™ P10 Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: S9 Vpap Auto

freetimecreations
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 9:02 pm

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by freetimecreations » Wed Jan 31, 2018 11:50 am

Check if you have the correct cp210x uart driver from Silicon Labs

Plug in and turn on Oximeter and move cursor to Black Apple select About this Mac and then System Report, Then USB
It should have listed CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller

_________________
Mask: AirFit™ F20 Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Humidifier: S9™ Series H5i™ Heated Humidifier with Climate Control
Additional Comments: Pressure 10.6cm-13.2cm EPR 2 Contec CMS50F

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:32 pm

Thank you,
I checked the USB and it is the correct one. I select import directly from oximeter; however, I get could not detect any connected oximeter device

_________________
MachineMask

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:35 pm

how can I insert or attach the screenshot

_________________
MachineMask

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 4:01 pm

freetimecreations wrote:Check if you have the correct cp210x uart driver from Silicon Labs

Plug in and turn on Oximeter and move cursor to Black Apple select About this Mac and then System Report, Then USB
It should have listed CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller

Thank you,
I did that;however, it does not identify it too

_________________
MachineMask

freetimecreations
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 24, 2012 9:02 pm

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by freetimecreations » Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:17 pm

To make sure I understand, The CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller is listed under "about this mac?"
Or it is not listed there too. (on my mac it is listed last so I need to scroll a bit.)

I just installed newer version and the OSX firewall blocked it, I went to system preferences/security and privacy/firewall/options and click to let silicon labs to install software.

_________________
Mask: AirFit™ F20 Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Humidifier: S9™ Series H5i™ Heated Humidifier with Climate Control
Additional Comments: Pressure 10.6cm-13.2cm EPR 2 Contec CMS50F
Last edited by freetimecreations on Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pugsy
Posts: 42713
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Missouri, USA

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Pugsy » Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:37 pm

Amany55 wrote:how can I insert or attach the screenshot


https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

I prefer imgur..free and much less annoying than Photobucket which I used to use.

I am sorry...while I have used SleepyHead and a 50DPlus...it was on a Windows computer and I have never used a Mac.
Now I know it will work on a Mac but I don't know how people got it done as in exactly what steps.

I don't know if Papit covered it here..but you might look.
viewtopic/t87790/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=77043&p=702522#p702522
I may have to RISE but I refuse to SHINE.

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 2:19 pm

freetimecreations wrote:To make sure I understand, The CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller is listed under "about this mac?"
Or it is not listed there too. (on my mac it is listed last so I need to scroll a bit.)

I just installed newer version and the OSX firewall blocked it, I went to system preferences/security and privacy/firewall/options and click to let silicon labs to install software.

Yes, it is under about this mac as I was advised

_________________
MachineMask

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 2:41 pm

Amany55 wrote:
freetimecreations wrote:To make sure I understand, The CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller is listed under "about this mac?"
Or it is not listed there too. (on my mac it is listed last so I need to scroll a bit.)

I just installed newer version and the OSX firewall blocked it, I went to system preferences/security and privacy/firewall/options and click to let silicon labs to install software.

Yes, it is under about this mac as I was advised

I went to the firewall and it is off on my Mac. I followed the installation steps and every time it tells me that it is installed

_________________
MachineMask

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 2:49 pm

Pugsy wrote:
Amany55 wrote:how can I insert or attach the screenshot


https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

I prefer imgur..free and much less annoying than Photobucket which I used to use.

I am sorry...while I have used SleepyHead and a 50DPlus...it was on a Windows computer and I have never used a Mac.
Now I know it will work on a Mac but I don't know how people got it done as in exactly what steps.

I don't know if Papit covered it here..but you might look.
viewtopic/t87790/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=77043&p=702522#p702522

Thank you Pugsy,
Papit covered it on a pc.
I am still hoping to reach a solution

_________________
MachineMask

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:09 pm


_________________
MachineMask

dsmith14469
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 1:37 pm

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by dsmith14469 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:17 pm

I had to load the file manually into SleepHead from the software provided (.spoR) file rather than trying to download the information directly from the oximeter into SleepyHead.

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:32 pm

dsmith14469 wrote:I had to load the file manually into SleepHead from the software provided (.spoR) file rather than trying to download the information directly from the oximeter into SleepyHead.

Thank you dsmith13369,
The software is working with Pc, not Mac

_________________
MachineMask

Amany55
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Cairo, Egypt

Re: Why doesn’t Sleepyhead identify oximeter

Post by Amany55 » Thu Feb 01, 2018 3:33 pm

Amany55 wrote:
freetimecreations wrote:To make sure I understand, The CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller is listed under "about this mac?"
Or it is not listed there too. (on my mac it is listed last so I need to scroll a bit.)

I just installed newer version and the OSX firewall blocked it, I went to system preferences/security and privacy/firewall/options and click to let silicon labs to install software.

Yes, it is under about this mac as I was advised


Here is how it shows:
CP2102 USB to UART Bridge Controller:

Product ID: 0xea60
Vendor ID: 0x10c4 (Silicon Laboratories, Inc.)
Version: 1.00
Serial Number: 0001
Speed: Up to 12 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Silicon Labs
Location ID: 0x14200000 / 14
Current Available (mA): 500
Current Required (mA): 100
Extra Operating Current (mA): 0

_________________
MachineMask