Flying with CPAP

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Sleepy-eyes

Flying with CPAP

Post by Sleepy-eyes » Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:36 pm

Okay, I just got off the plane on my trip. When we boarded in Oklahoma City, they counted our two CPAP machines as carryon! We had 4 checked bags, 3 carryon and 2 CPAP machines. I argued with them, but they even went to their "higher up" and said they definately counted as carryon...............so we had to pay $50 for the "extra" bag. I told them I'd file a complaint report when we get back home, and they said.........."so file"! I'll research it when we get home, but I'd sure appreciate a link to the regulation so we don't have to pay for the extra bag going home.

Any help on this one would be welcomed.

Chris

I'm not a Doctor, nor am I associated with the medical profession in any way. Any comments I make are just personal opinions. Take them or leave them. (justa don't gripe at me if ya donna like 'em!)

alpha1340

Post by alpha1340 » Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:46 pm

alpha1340

Post by alpha1340 » Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:48 pm

Sorry for the dup reply. But most airlines allow you two checked bags and 1 carry-on. If you only paid for one "extra bag" then they were correct. Because you said you had 4 checked bags, 3 carry-ons, and 2 cpap machines.

Sleepy-eyes

Post by Sleepy-eyes » Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:01 pm

There were two of us, flying with two tickets. Each ticket holder is authorized two bags and two carryons. The CPAP machines are not supposed to be counted as carryon, so we should have been able to carry the "charged for" bag onto the aircraft as carryon.

Chris

I'm not a Doctor, nor am I associated with the medical profession in any way. Any comments I make are just personal opinions. Take them or leave them. (justa don't gripe at me if ya donna like 'em!)

hayeswildrick

Post by hayeswildrick » Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:06 pm

The link above says: