No SD Card in AirSense 10

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Pearson28
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:12 am
Location: Virginia

No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by Pearson28 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 11:35 am

Received my ResMed AirSense 10 w/Humidifier last week. When investigating using SleepyHead software, I noted there was no SD Card in the machine.

Can I just buy an SD card and stick it in to start collecting data? Any risk this will interfere with the data already being uploaded to the AirSense app online?

Thanks.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: DreamWear Nasal CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: No SD Card included - but forum members helped me fix that

yaconsult
Posts: 1099
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 10:43 pm
Location: "Silicon Valley", CA

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by yaconsult » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:28 pm

Yes, any SD card that is the right physical size will work. You don't need anything fancy, or huge, or fast so no need to waste money on a more expensive high-end SD card. They are available anywhere - walmart, bestbuy, amazon, etc.

The compliance data is sent wirelessly using the 3G phone network and is independent of the memory card. Putting in a memory card will not affect or interfere with the automatic data uploads.

But, I am surprised that you didn't get a memory card, branded with the ResMed logo, in the box with your new machine like I did. If you didn't overlook it in the packaging (it's small!), then someone must have removed it. You could check with your DME and ask where it is. I believe that the manual that comes in the box also says that it is included.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: January 2015 Sleep Study Results: Apnea/Hypopnea Index (AHI): 80.2, Sleepyhead

User avatar
grayghost4
Posts: 1474
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 6:52 pm
Location: Norther Illinois now in SF aera for the winter
Contact:

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by grayghost4 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:36 pm

there is a small folder in the left pocket of the zipper cover that may have the card in a holder inside it.
If you're not part of the solution you're just scumming up the bottom of the beaker!

Get the Clinicians manual here : http://apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-press ... tup-manual

bay123
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2016 1:33 am
Location: California

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by bay123 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:16 pm

a brand new or refurbished machine?

User avatar
WRX03
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 9:37 am
Location: Roanoke, Virginia

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by WRX03 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:25 pm

What area of Virginia are you in?

User avatar
Sheriff Buford
Posts: 3415
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:01 am
Location: Kingwood, Texas

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by Sheriff Buford » Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:22 pm

I picked up my new AirSence yesterday. The DME gal said Resmed stopped including a card with their machines. I asked why.... she said she didn't know why. I took my card outta' my old S9.
Sheriff

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: FitLife Total Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: I use both the Resmed F10 and Fitlife Total Mask. No humidifier.

User avatar
OkyDoky
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 5:18 pm

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by OkyDoky » Tue Dec 20, 2016 5:46 pm

Sheriff Buford wrote:I picked up my new AirSence yesterday. The DME gal said Resmed stopped including a card with their machines. I asked why.... she said she didn't know why. I took my card outta' my old S9.
Sheriff
Maybe they thought the DME and doctors could get all they need to know through remote monitoring. And if there is no SD card, maybe it would keep the curious from checking their own data. What's next no SD slot?
ResMed Aircurve 10 VAUTO EPAP 11 IPAP 15 / P10 pillows mask / Sleepyhead Software / Back up & travel machine Respironics 760

User avatar
SleepyBobR
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 4:42 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by SleepyBobR » Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:15 pm

I just got mine on Friday and it had a card included.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: Simplus Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: AirSense 10 AutoSet For Her @ 7-10

User avatar
JimW159
Posts: 682
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2016 10:26 am
Location: Tarpon Springs, FL

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by JimW159 » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:14 pm

Sheriff Buford wrote:I picked up my new AirSence yesterday. The DME gal said Resmed stopped including a card with their machines. I asked why.... she said she didn't know why. I took my card outta' my old S9.
Sheriff
Did they offer to sell you one? This reminds me of the practice of a retailer of tech products breaking up packages and selling the components separately at a substantial improvement in their bottom line.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: Brevida™ Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: Primary mask = F&P Brevida BU ResMed P10 - Pressure = 9-17 On CPAP since 12/05/2008 Prior ID on CPAPTalk.com = JimW203

User avatar
chunkyfrog
Posts: 24288
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:10 pm
Location: Nebraska--what does not kill us, makes us stronger

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by chunkyfrog » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:39 pm

I would check with the Goodmans.
They are a bit more honest than your average DME.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ For Her CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: AirFit™ P10 For Her Nasal Pillow CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: Backup: Devillbiss Intellipap Autoadjust
I once was lost in apnea; but now I'm found--breathing easily all night long.
Medicare suppliers:
https://www.medicare.gov/supplierdirectory/search.html

User avatar
Sheriff Buford
Posts: 3415
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 8:01 am
Location: Kingwood, Texas

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by Sheriff Buford » Wed Dec 21, 2016 7:02 am

JimW159 wrote:
Sheriff Buford wrote:I picked up my new AirSence yesterday. The DME gal said Resmed stopped including a card with their machines. I asked why.... she said she didn't know why. I took my card outta' my old S9.
Sheriff
Did they offer to sell you one? This reminds me of the practice of a retailer of tech products breaking up packages and selling the components separately at a substantial improvement in their bottom line.
No she didn't. She said I could get one from Walmart or Walgreens.

She did make an interesting comment. She said no matter how old your current machine is, when you go on Medicare, you should put in an order in for a new machine. She said it takes forever to get the machine and if you wait until you need one, it will take forever.
Have you folks experienced this?

Sheriff

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: FitLife Total Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: I use both the Resmed F10 and Fitlife Total Mask. No humidifier.

User avatar
LSAT
Posts: 9638
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2008 10:11 am
Location: SE Wisconsin

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by LSAT » Wed Dec 21, 2016 8:38 am

Sheriff Buford wrote: .

She did make an interesting comment. She said no matter how old your current machine is, when you go on Medicare, you should put in an order in for a new machine. She said it takes forever to get the machine and if you wait until you need one, it will take forever.
Have you folks experienced this?

Sheriff
It's been over 2 years, but when I wanted a new machine..(over 5 years)...I walked into my DME and 2 days later I had my machine.(I have Medicare Advantage) I'm sure that the DME needs to check with Medicare or Insurance, but I think it depends on how much urgency they apply.

_________________
Machine: S9 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine
Mask: Mirage Quattro™ Full Face CPAP Mask with Headgear
Humidifier: S9™ Series H5i™ Heated Humidifier with Climate Control
Additional Comments:  S9 Autoset...APAP Settings 11-15

Pearson28
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:12 am
Location: Virginia

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by Pearson28 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:32 am

yaconsult wrote:Yes, any SD card that is the right physical size will work. You don't need anything fancy, or huge, or fast so no need to waste money on a more expensive high-end SD card. They are available anywhere - walmart, bestbuy, amazon, etc.

The compliance data is sent wirelessly using the 3G phone network and is independent of the memory card. Putting in a memory card will not affect or interfere with the automatic data uploads.

But, I am surprised that you didn't get a memory card, branded with the ResMed logo, in the box with your new machine like I did. If you didn't overlook it in the packaging (it's small!), then someone must have removed it. You could check with your DME and ask where it is. I believe that the manual that comes in the box also says that it is included.
Thanks for the great info., very helpful. I'm not particularly surprised it wasn't included but good to know I can just pick up a standard SD card. I'll go back and look in the case to see if I did in fact overlook it.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: DreamWear Nasal CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: No SD Card included - but forum members helped me fix that

Pearson28
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:12 am
Location: Virginia

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by Pearson28 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:33 am

grayghost4 wrote:there is a small folder in the left pocket of the zipper cover that may have the card in a holder inside it.
Do you mean the carrying case? I"ll look there tonight. Maybe I overlooked it.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: DreamWear Nasal CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: No SD Card included - but forum members helped me fix that

Pearson28
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 7:12 am
Location: Virginia

Re: No SD Card in AirSense 10

Post by Pearson28 » Wed Dec 21, 2016 10:34 am

bay123 wrote:a brand new or refurbished machine?
Before they delivered it, I was sure to ask the DME. "New" was his response.

_________________
Machine: AirSense™ 10 AutoSet™ CPAP Machine with HumidAir™ Heated Humidifier
Mask: DreamWear Nasal CPAP Mask with Headgear
Additional Comments: No SD Card included - but forum members helped me fix that