Mirage Liberty Mask Cost $6000 in Ortho Treatment!

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
ElizaNC

Mirage Liberty Mask Cost $6000 in Ortho Treatment!

Post by ElizaNC » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:21 am

I've been using the Mirage Liberty mask for 5 years. After noticing progressive shifting of my upper teeth, I recently received two orthodontic consults to determine cause and treatment of the significant changes in teeth alignment. I am in my mid 50's and contributed the teeth movement to another mid-life "change". Both Drs indicated that this type of front teeth movement had to be contributed to consistent pressure placed on the upper lip area and both inquired if I used a CPAP mask. I had made no former connection to teeth movement and my CPAP treatment, but the orthodontists indicated they've seen many cases where hybrid masks have caused similar issues with teeth movement. I will need braces to correct this issue at the lovely tune of $6000.

As a mouth breather, I am trying SO hard to make an adjustment to nasal pillows (with chin strap use) and am trying out the Aloha and Airfit P10 masks. This adjustment is like starting over with treatment as learning to breathe successfully from my nose (and keep my mouth closed) doesn't feel normal or comfortable. I really want to avoid having to adjust to another full face masked, so I'm working hard to adapt to nasal pillows...and the burden of the additional layers on my head and face from the chin strap.

If you are a hybrid mask user, PLEASE monitor your teeth alignment and possibly consider alternative mask options before you end up with a similar issue and major expense to correct!

chunkyfrog
Location: Nebraska--I am sworn to keep the secret of this paradise.

Re: Mirage Liberty Mask Cost $6000 in Ortho Treatment!

Post by chunkyfrog » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:34 am

How on earth does someone wear the same mask for five years without noticing their teeth are moving?
I'm calling troll!

palerider