OT: Hearing Aids

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
KarenK

OT: Hearing Aids

Post by KarenK » Fri Apr 18, 2014 2:56 pm

I have been wearing Phonak hearing aids for the last 5 years and am now in the market for something new and improved. My loss is mild to moderate, and my biggest problem is background noise when I am out with a group. I am test-driving Phonak AudeoQ 90s and Oticon Alta Pros at this time. The AudeoQs lasted 1 day because they were not programmed well, and the Oticons were suggested for better background noise control. So far I have not noticed anything different, except that maybe I can pick up conversations from other groups! Next week I am going to try Resound Versos. I am also interested in streaming music.

I know that there was another thread but it is about 1 year old and the technology changes quickly, so I am hoping some of you might have suggestions. I like my current Audi group, by the way.

Forgot to mention, I sue Android, so if i wanted to do the wireless thing I would have to switch or at least buy an iPod Touch. Argh!!
Last edited by KarenK on Sat Apr 26, 2014 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

library lady

Re: OT: Hearing Aids

Post by library lady » Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:03 pm

I like my Oticons... they're about 4 years old, still going strong. Before that I had Maico... I liked them too. I have had moderate to severe loss since childhood, started school with a great big old-fashioned thing.

Now using AirFit F10 mask; Quattro Air is backup mask. RemZzzz mask liners with both.

squid13

Post by squid13 » Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:37 pm

I wear 2 Starkey's behind the ear type hearing aids. I'm 90% deaf in the left ear and 60% in the right and they allow me to hear real well, background noise is taken care off. I've used the brand for a number of years.