Fractured sleep, Ambien, dial wingin' and other things

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
robysue

Fractured sleep, Ambien, dial wingin' and other things

Post by robysue » Mon Mar 03, 2014 9:43 am

An update.

I've been paping now for 3 1/2 years. In that time, I've never gotten to where I've been sleeping soundly all night long, although when the insomnia is well under control, the wakes are few (as in 2 or 3) and short (as in less than 5-10 minutes) and I wake up feeling pretty decent.

But in the 3 1/2 years, the insomnia has waxed and waned and I've never really had more than about 5-6 months at a time with things really under control.

And right now? Things are not under control and I'm feeling pretty groggy when I wake up in the morning and I'm having a lot of problems functioning during the daytime. Things at work are taking way too long for me to complete simply because I stare at them without making much progress. Hubby, however, says my cognitive abilities have improved in the last 3 1/2 years, but it's not clear if he's comparing them to the pre-CPAP era or the immediate post-CPAP crash and burn of Fall 2010.