Living at 5500 feet versus sea level

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
grayjoanne1966

Living at 5500 feet versus sea level

Post by grayjoanne1966 » Sat Mar 01, 2014 6:02 pm

I am a newbie on CPAP and night oxygen due to sleep apnea. I live at 5500 feet elevation. Would it be to my benefit to move to sea level. Has anyone out there actually made the move and if so, tell me about your CPAP and oxygen deprivation experiences. etc. Were you able to get off of supplemental oxygen? Were you able to discontinue your CPAP therapy?

chunkyfrog
Location: Nebraska--I am sworn to keep the secret of this paradise.

Re: Living at 5500 feet versus sea level

Post by chunkyfrog » Sat Mar 01, 2014 6:27 pm

Most of the newer, better cpaps now adjust automatically, so that altitude would not be a problem with cpap.
With the oxygen, it is hard to tell. --and I am quite ignorant about therapeutic oxygen.
If you are on oxygen 24/7, I doubt that sea level would be much help.
Someone will chime in with an answer. This forum is crawling with smart people.

rjezuit

Post by rjezuit » Sat Mar 01, 2014 6:59 pm

If you've lived there a while, the body acclimates. If you just moved there, it might take a while. People all over the world live at high altitude, and are not 02 deprived.The body is an amazing thing.

avi123

Post by avi123 » Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:43 pm

I have no experience with this but if I was in your situation I would try to avoid living at the elevation of 5,000' b/c of the possible problem of Periodic Breathing (Central Apnea) at such elevation, in addition to my OSA problem.

Check:

http://www.altitudemedicine.org/index.p ... physiology

see my recent set-up and Statistics:
http://i.imgur.com/TewT8G9.png
see my recent ResScan treatment results:
http://i.imgur.com/3oia0EY.png
http://i.imgur.com/QEjvlVY.png

rjezuit

Post by rjezuit » Sun Mar 02, 2014 12:25 am