Help! Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt newbie

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
TahoeGal

Help! Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt newbie

Post by TahoeGal » Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:27 pm

I just got my VPAP Adapt today. I am new to xpap therapy. I have central apnea, AHI 32/59 in REM. I tried out the machine, and OMG the pressure is tremendous! I can hardly breathe against it. It pops my ears! It also doesn't appear to have a ramp function.
I really want this to work, but I don't know how I'll sleep. Anyone have experience with this machine? I really need help. I have the mask fitted right ( resmed swift for her) and it doesn't leak. If I hold my breath, the pressure really kicks in and forces my mouth open. (I am not a mouth breather). Any help/advice would be treated like gold!
Thanks!
(Ps: I don't know how to make a signature with my equipment on it)

STL Mark

Re: Help! Resmed S9 VPAP Adapt newbie

Post by STL Mark » Tue Aug 27, 2013 3:37 pm

Welcome to the forum. You have found a great resource here. Some people find that pressures in excess of 15 are difficult to feel comfortable with using pillow style masks. You are now beginning a journey where you will work to identify which mask works best for you. Don't assume that all masks will be equally uncomfortable in how you perceive the pressure.

There are several issues that came to mind in your post. The S9 VPAP Adapt came in two model numbers. The ones produced prior to October 2012 will have a Ref 36007 number on the sticker on the back. These units do not have ramp. The ones produced since that date will have a Ref number of 36037 and do have ramp. If I were you I would contact the DME and demand that they swap yours out immediately for a newer unit. ResMed should exchange the unit for the DME so there should be no problem. If you have problems with your DME, get your Doctor to modify the prescription to add a ramp value for you which will force them to swap out the machine.