Oral appliance user -- should i go to cpap??

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
steeve

Oral appliance user -- should i go to cpap??

Post by steeve » Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:36 pm

Hello all, and Thanks ahead for your help. I am a newbie as this is my first post. Just found this site and have learned a few things. To my question--- I have been using the silent nite appl. 3.5 weeks and while my wife does say it helps with the snoring [ I now PURR] I've not noticed much improvement in energy level and still wake up often with a headache. Should I give it more time or just go ahead to the CPAP.. Anyone have any insights, suggestions it would be much appreciated. THANKS Steve

SleepyToo2

Re: Oral appliance user -- should i go to cpap??

Post by SleepyToo2 » Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:43 pm

Did you have a sleep study before you got the Silent Nite? If not, how do you know how severe your sleep apnea is (given that you are still "purring," otherwise known as snoring)? The only way you can tell if the appliance is working is with a before and after sleep study. You will also need a before and after sleep study with a CPAP - you alone cannot just decide to go to a CPAP. A sleep study can help diagnose about 70 different sleep disorders, of which sleep apnea is just one. You need professional help with your "purring."

Starlette

Post by Starlette » Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:46 pm

Hey there Steeve.

I have the same dental appliance as you. Should say on my personal information. The dental appliance and the xpap work as a tag team. All the dental appliance does is move your jaw forward to allow more airway, but it doesn't "cure" you. The xpap "gives" you the necessary therapy for the OSA.

Starlette

steeve

Post by steeve » Sun Dec 16, 2012 8:12 pm