3 months and still tired, please help!

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
jlaber

3 months and still tired, please help!

Post by jlaber » Sat Nov 10, 2012 11:32 pm

Hi, I have been using my APAP machine for 3 months now, and I'm still exhausted. It's helping me a lot in some ways. During my sleep study, my AHI was 88.5. When on the machine, my AHI is under 3. I don't wake up gasping anymore, and don't make a trip to the bathroom every night. So I am getting some benefits from the machine. However, I'm still exhausted every day. I use the machine all night, every night. My compliance for the last 3 months is 99% (I only missed 1 night when the power went out), and I use the machine for 9-11 hours of sleep each night. I even got one of those contour pillows since I'm a side sleeper, which fixed my problem with leaks and reduced how high the pressure goes during the night. But after being awake for only 8 hours, I'm literally falling asleep in my chair and could go back to bed for the night if I wanted to. Anyone have any idea what's going on?

kteague

Re: 3 months and still tired, please help!

Post by kteague » Sun Nov 11, 2012 12:30 am

It can be hard to know if more time is needed for continued recovery or if something else is going on too. What things has your doctor already ruled out? There are so many thing that can cause one to feel exhausted - like thyroid dysfunction, diabetes, anemia, nutritional deficiencies, medication side effects - for starters. Does your sleep feel restful or are waking a lot at night? Sometimes other things cause sleep to be non restorative. Hopefully you can sort through the puzzle pieces and make some sort of sense of why you feel like you feel. Best wishes.

Sir NoddinOff

Post by Sir NoddinOff » Sun Nov 11, 2012 12:28 pm