Eeegads Elan

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
portiemom

Eeegads Elan

Post by portiemom » Sun Oct 28, 2012 7:42 am

I'm wondering if anyone else is having problems with their beloved Elan Nasal Mask? In recent weeks I have been experiencing the dreaded fart noise no matter how I adjust this mask. Too weird as I have been loving the Elan for well over 2 months. I've two so they are always clean, but I don't seem to be able to get a good seal. Any suggestions are welcome as I've had to go back to my Aloha.
Thanks

jencat824

Re: Eeegads Elan

Post by jencat824 » Sun Oct 28, 2012 7:49 am

You might have the upper adjust straps too tight. I had a problem similar to yours with my Elan and after some frustration (I use the Elan when I have a sore in my nose and cannot use the Piliaro) I undid all the straps and re strapped them, using the video (you can find this online) and the' farting' noise went away. I hope this helps.
Jen

Other masks I've tried: *=liked, #= no way
Piliaro, SleepWeaver Elan*, Swift FX w&w/o Bella Loops#, OpitLife#,Simplicity*, Mirage Vista*, Go Life for Her#, IQ (original hg only)*, Quattro FX (barely)###, Wisp*, Nuance#, Swift LT for her**

chunkyfrog
Location: Nebraska--I am sworn to keep the secret of this paradise.

Post by chunkyfrog » Sun Oct 28, 2012 4:29 pm

I have been told that the recommended replacement for the élan cushion may be as short as 2 weeks.
Apparently some insurance will cover it that often. After about 5 weeks, mine get a bit scratchy
at the edges of the tabs, and stains on the places that touch my face.
If the plastic backing starts to pull free, it may block the vent holes--time to replace!

jen4700

Post by jen4700 » Sun Oct 28, 2012 7:54 pm