Newbie here, with a whistling hose!!

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
fourkatz

Newbie here, with a whistling hose!!

Post by fourkatz » Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:06 am

Hi all! I'm a newbie - started using CPAP 1st of this year. Have been very lucky, and slept through the night since day 1. However, the past few weeks, I've been hearing a whistling noise from my hose, which wakes me up. It's not the vent noise - I'm familiar with that, and it doesn't bother me. Sleep with a fan going to circulate the air and create a white noise.
I've checked all connections, and replaced the hose with a new one two weeks ago - but the whistling continues. I know it's related to the hose, because when I move it around, the noise stops in certain postions. I just can't find a way to make the noise stop, without holding the hose in some weird place.
My machine is next to my bed, and I loop the hose around the headboard, and hang it over the headboard by my pillow.
I've browsed these forums for noise issues, but haven't found anything about a whistling noise like I have.
Would appreciate any and all suggestions. My hose is naked - do you think a hose cover would help?
Thank you!

Scobar

Re: Newbie here, with a whistling hose!!

Post by Scobar » Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:27 am

Are you qualified for a replacement hose?

fourkatz

Post by fourkatz » Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:35 am

No, I just received a new hose about two weeks ago - same whistling problem. Could it be a bad hose that should be replaced?

nanwilson

Post by nanwilson » Mon Jun 04, 2012 1:07 pm

Just dab a bit of olive or veg oil on the swivel, swivel it around a few times and the noise will stop....wipe the excess oil off and your good to go.
Started cpap in 2010.. still at it with great results.

fourkatz

Post by fourkatz » Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:06 pm

Thanks, Nan! I'll give that a try tonight and see if it resolves the issue for me.

avi123

Post by avi123 » Mon Jun 04, 2012 3:29 pm