my cpap doesnt help me

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
neworleans399

my cpap doesnt help me

Post by neworleans399 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:37 pm

i did a sleep study. i have sleep apnea. long story short. i went thru many masks, around 12. my pressure was 8 moved to a 14. the problem is i cant breathe with it on my nose. when i put it over my nose i can barely get any air. we even tried uping the pressure to max. no luck. i even tried a full face mask. i dont breate with my mouth at night , just my nose. so i cant use it. any other suggestions. alternatives. been to 6 doctors.

josh73

Re: my cpap doesnt help me

Post by josh73 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:49 pm

I'm brand new to CPAP, this is my first week but I couldn't do the nasal mask either. It made me feel like I was being choked. I went with the full face more for the psychology of knowing that I can sleep with my mouth open in the middle of the night but I keep my mouth shut in the full face and breath through my nose. sorry you're having such a hard time with this.

jmelby

Post by jmelby » Wed Jan 18, 2012 9:57 pm

What type of mask are you using? Is it a nasal pillow mask? If so, have you tried a standard nasal mask like the Activa LT (where it covers your nose rather than just your nostrils)? From what you are saying, it sounds like you might be using a nasal pillow mask and the pillows aren't staying open, or something similar. Another thing to consider is the size of the pillows if that is the style of mask you like.

(yet another Jeff)

BlackSpinner

Post by BlackSpinner » Wed Jan 18, 2012 10:29 pm

[quote="neworleans399". i even tried a full face mask. i dont breate with my mouth at night , just my nose. so i cant use it. any other suggestions. alternatives. been to 6 doctors. [/quote]
A full face mask means you can breathe either through your nose OR your mouth. So there is something else going on.
What is your machine? What does your data say?