Using Swift FX for Her.. but now....

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
hosehead_dolphy

Using Swift FX for Her.. but now....

Post by hosehead_dolphy » Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:40 pm

Hi Everyone,
I have been using the nasal pillows for her for a couple of months now and I LOVE the nasal pillows. But now I have a sore inside my nostril and it isn't healing. I have been sleeping with the nasal pillows with this sore, but it isn't healing and I think it is the pillow that gave me the sore. Has anyone else had this problem? and if so, what did you do to have it heal up? I still have my full face mask, but I didn't like it before. Do I need to go back to this mask till the sore heals?

apneawho

Re: Using Swift FX for Her.. but now....

Post by apneawho » Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:47 pm

Not sure if you need to go back to mask to allow sore to heal. Someone else can answer that hopefully. Buy Lansinoh at drug store or WalMart, in the baby section. Nursing moms use it for sore nipples. Put a dab in each nare, not too much, morning and night. You can use the Lansinoh while wearing nasal pillow. Many members use it every day. I use Ayr gel occasionally, in nasal spray section of drug store, but I have not had an actual sore. I have been sore or dry but have not developed a sore. Hope that helps.

xenablue

Post by xenablue » Thu Oct 06, 2011 12:53 pm

I use both the Swift FX for Her and the Swift LT and switch them out every few days or more often if my nostrils get irritated. If irritated I find the Lansinoh works great, but I don't get a great seal, so use it during the day when I'm not wearing the mask and that seems to alleviate the irritation.

If the sore/irritation is just inside my nostril/s, I put a tiny amount of Neosporin on the sore part during the day, which helps a lot.

Also, try readjusting your headgear and nasal pillows to a slightly looser, more comfortable fit.

Cheers,
xena

hosehead_dolphy