Review: Pad-A-Cheek Quattro FX Mask Liner

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
JohnBFisher

Review: Pad-A-Cheek Quattro FX Mask Liner

Post by JohnBFisher » Wed Jun 22, 2011 1:51 pm

I promised I would provide a review of Pad-A-Cheek's Quattro FX Mask Liner. But first the standard disclaimers:
  • I have no financial or other interest in Pad-A-Cheek other than as a user.
  • I use an ASV unit, which requires a GREAT seal at very high pressures.
  • Most users may not need a mask liner.
  • I do not use a mask liner to protect my skin. Masks don't bother my skin.
  • I've used various masks and nasal pillows for 20 years, so my thoughts are based on a LOT of experience.
  • I am not a medical professional. Just a professional user.
  • My thoughts and opinions are my own. Use them. They are cheap enough!
So, why did I need a mask liner? Well, as you may know, I have a neurological disorder that is progressing. It impacts my brain stem. That seems to be the cause of my fairly severe central sleep apnea. To help me sleep, my neurologist prescribed an ASV unit. I have and use both Resmed and Respironics ASV units. Both, to help me maintain respiration, ramp up my pressure to 25 to 30cm H2O. The wild swing from about 10cm H2O for the Expiration Positive Airway Pressure (EPAP) to 25 to 30cm H2O for the Inspiration Positive Airway Pressure (IPAP) can cause most masks to leak. It's a wild swing. And those swings can lead to leaks. So, I use mask liners to help reduce the leaks.

I purchased REMzzzs mask liners for my older Quattro Full Face Mask. They also work for the Quattro FX Full Face Mask. As my neurological disorder progressed, I've found that I need to use them more and more. Those do work. But the disadvantage is that you need to replace them every few days. By using them more than once per night, it makes the price fairly reasonable. I can recommend the REMzzzs mask liners.