low carb diet?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
nmevan

low carb diet?

Post by nmevan » Sat May 07, 2011 11:02 am

greetings cpapers

I am overweight and on cpap. I'm 54, relatively healthy and very active.
I've been pretending to try to lose weight for 30 years.
Apparently, my will power is under powered.
I'm considering trying the low carb approach (the Gary Taubes ideas).
I'm hoping I might stick to it for a change because it allows me to eat foods like eggs, bacon and cheese.
I'm also hoping that it will curb my desire for sugar.

I realize this is a cpap forum, but I believe that weight, diet and sleep are all intertwined.

I'm looking for some good tips from those of you cpapers who have had success losing weight, and if you can bless the low carb diet.

thanks

evan

Mary Z

Re: low carb diet?

Post by Mary Z » Sat May 07, 2011 12:44 pm

I have lost weight on a low carb diet. In the beginning phase you really need to count your carbs and stay within the recommended range (see atkins web site or any other book or website that gives you carb restrictions for different stages of losing). I find that going over my carb limit definitely kept me from losing.
They make low carb ice cream now. I eat a lot of low carb tortillias as I miss bread- they're great with cheese, eggs, ham, bacon or whatever stuffed inside.
Atkins bars are the only low carb meal substitute or snack that I have found.

archangle

Post by archangle » Sat May 07, 2011 2:12 pm

If you want to look at Atkins, the "original" low carb diet, the book to get is "Dr. Atkins' New Diet Revolution."

There's a lot of hatred for Atkins in the traditional medical/diet industry because it says that the "party line" on weight loss and diet is all wrong. That doesn't make Atkins right, but it doesn't make it wrong, either.