still restless!..found mold growing in water

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Sleepless in the hamptons!

still restless!..found mold growing in water

Post by Sleepless in the hamptons! » Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:02 pm

Hello my first time!
I have been using the resmed s-9 for two months now still having a hard time sleeping with the mask on and just started coughing allot and found mold or something growing in my water chamber is this mold and is this why im coughing?

STL Mark

Re: still restless!..found mold growing in water

Post by STL Mark » Sat Mar 26, 2011 10:41 pm

Sleepless in the hamptons! wrote:Hello my first time!
I have been using the resmed s-9 for two months now still having a hard time sleeping with the mask on and just started coughing allot and found mold or something growing in my water chamber is this mold and is this why im coughing?
If your using distilled water you should not get mold in the tank. Especially after only 2 months. I assume you are draining it frequently and have a new S9 and tank and not a used one. When mold does occur it is frequently a pink color and from tap water. If you have problem tap water or want to exclude yourself from this problem in the future I would also rinse the tank with your distilled water.

I use hydrogen peroxide every now and then to sanitize my tank even though I have never had issues. I do this about once per month. I completely shake out the water about every other day and start with fresh.

Mode: ASVAuto, Min EPAP: 4, Max EPAP: 15, Min PS: 3, Max PS: 15, Ramp: Off - Original Titration: 18

Samba

Post by Samba » Sun Mar 27, 2011 6:10 am

Can the H5i go in the dishwasher, cause my h4i does & that make cleaning it a lot easier.

kempo

Post by kempo » Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:35 am

archangle

Post by archangle » Sun Mar 27, 2011 3:42 pm