Long sleep times

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
JimmyTheGeek

Long sleep times

Post by JimmyTheGeek » Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:36 pm

I'm sure this has been covered in the past, but I haven't been able to find anything.

I'm sleeping much longer hours with my bipap than I did without it. I've had my bipap for about a month now and have had no problems adjusting to it.

I'm a bit of a nightowl, usually in bed around midnight, read for an hour, then don my mask and quickly fall asleep. I sleep soundly with very few apneas. My wife says I don't snore at all.

Being blissfully retired, I don't set an alarm any more. But I can easily sleep 10-12 hours a night and I've never done that before. I'm wondering if my body is making up for lost time from my pre-bipap days, or if I'm just lazy and like to sleep!

I write this with a bit of tongue-in-cheek; it's not a bad 'problem' at all. But just the same, it's a change in my behavior and I wonder if it should be a concern.

BadThad

Re: Long sleep times

Post by BadThad » Mon Dec 20, 2010 2:58 pm

Your body will only let you sleep as long as you need to. Be happy you're able to sleep that soundly for that many hours! I assume you wake feeling well rested and ready to go?
I handle my OWN CPAP use without doctors.

msradar65

Post by msradar65 » Mon Dec 20, 2010 3:22 pm

I was the same way for the first 6 weeks. I remember reading a post about sleep debt. I apparently has a large debt to pay.

I am now sleeping normal hours now. I believe in going with the flow. It my body tells me sleep I sleep!
Diagnosed 08/31/10. Titration 9/02/10. Started CPAP 11/01/10. Auto mode 10-15cm. Alternate mask GoLife for her. Back up mask Full-life full face w/Pad-a-cheek mask liner. Comtec CMS F50 wrist pulse oximeter. Sobakawa Cloud Pillow, Sleepyhead software

monica4patience

Post by monica4patience » Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:11 pm