mask caused Staph Infection

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
pears5

mask caused Staph Infection

Post by pears5 » Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:02 pm

Hi all, I am new to CPAP so I need all the help I can get. I have had my CPAP Machine for two weeks now and am having quite a few problems, but my major concern is the bridge of my nose has become very infected and is now an open wound. This has happened from using my mask which I clean every morning with alcohol wipes. I had swabs taken by my doctor last week and is turns out to be golden staph. I am now on antibiotics to cure the infection. I work in a hospital so because of the infection I am unable to go to work till it clears. I am now using a full face mask but I cant get a good seal no matter what I try. Has anyone else had these problems ? Your advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

cflame1

Re: mask caused Staph Infection

Post by cflame1 » Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:07 pm

here's a post by somebody who had a staph infection from his mask (name TheDreamer)

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=40643&p=355589&hilit=staph#p355589

Physician

Post by Physician » Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:27 pm

pears5 wrote:Hi all, I am new to CPAP so I need all the help I can get. I have had my CPAP Machine for two weeks now and am having quite a few problems, but my major concern is the bridge of my nose has become very infected and is now an open wound. This has happened from using my mask which I clean every morning with alcohol wipes. I had swabs taken by my doctor last week and is turns out to be golden staph. I am now on antibiotics to cure the infection. I work in a hospital so because of the infection I am unable to go to work till it clears. I am now using a full face mask but I cant get a good seal no matter what I try. Has anyone else had these problems ? Your advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

By "golden staph" did you mean coagulase positive staph aureus ?