Page 1 of 1

Why does my treatment pressure not increase(s9)?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:52 am
by ineedasnooze
I got a new fan dangled contraption called an s9 lol.

Anyways, I havnt slept with it yet. But, I turned ramp off and am sitting here, and its set to autoset, but the pressure wont increase past 4.0 even if I stop breathing..................

How do I access the menu to check my min and max pressures etc?

Sorry but doc set it up, but he hadnt seen one before.

Re: Why does my treatment pressure not increase(s9)?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:09 am
by ozij
ineedasnooze wrote:I got a new fan dangled contraption called an s9 lol.

Anyways, I havnt slept with it yet. But, I turned ramp off and am sitting here, and its set to autoset, but the pressure wont increase past 4.0 even if I stop breathing..................

How do I access the menu to check my min and max pressures etc?

Sorry but doc set it up, but he hadnt seen one before.

The machine analyses breathing patterns, and decides it needs to raise pressure based on that analysis. When you're awake, it see a very unstable breathing, and ignores it. It will start responding when it identifies sleep breathing disturbed by obstructions -- very different from waking breathing.

Re: Why does my treatment pressure not increase(s9)?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:38 am
by Guest
oh man that is tricky.

so its probably ok then?

how do i access the advanced menu just to check he didnt accidentally drop the max pressure to 4?

Re: Why does my treatment pressure not increase(s9)?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:43 am
by Julie
Just relax! The machine knows what to do and when. You can't monitor anything while you're awake (the goblins in the machine know everything! :lol:

Re: Why does my treatment pressure not increase(s9)?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:43 am
by fiberfan
Guest wrote:how do i access the advanced menu just to check he didnt accidentally drop the max pressure to 4?

Press both the setup and push dial buttons down for 3 seconds will get you into the clinical menu.

Re: Why does my treatment pressure not increase(s9)?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:48 am
by Guest
Noice, thanks

Hope everyone else is enjoying their s9. will post what i think after i get use to it.

Re: Why does my treatment pressure not increase(s9)?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 8:44 am
by JohnBFisher
ineedasnooze wrote:... Anyways, I haven't slept with it yet. But, I turned ramp off and am sitting here, and its set to autoset, but the pressure wont increase past 4.0 even if I stop breathing ...

Greetings! And welcome to the forum.

You wondered why the unit would not increase the pressure when you just "stop breathing". Well, the algorithm is designed to NOT increase your pressure if you do not have an obstruction. And just stopping breathing would appear to the unit as a central apnea, not an obstructive apnea. In that case, most of the autoset algorithms will specifically NOT attempt to increase the pressure.

So, until you actually have an obstruction it would not start to increase the pressure.

Hope that helps.

Re: Why does my treatment pressure not increase(s9)?

PostPosted: Thu Mar 25, 2010 3:06 pm
by dsm
JohnBFisher wrote:
ineedasnooze wrote:... Anyways, I haven't slept with it yet. But, I turned ramp off and am sitting here, and its set to autoset, but the pressure wont increase past 4.0 even if I stop breathing ...

Greetings! And welcome to the forum.

You wondered why the unit would not increase the pressure when you just "stop breathing". Well, the algorithm is designed to NOT increase your pressure if you do not have an obstruction. And just stopping breathing would appear to the unit as a central apnea, not an obstructive apnea. In that case, most of the autoset algorithms will specifically NOT attempt to increase the pressure.

So, until you actually have an obstruction it would not start to increase the pressure.

Hope that helps.


John,

I would have thought that closing ones throat (to simulate not breathing) would look just like an obstruction. Am pretty sure the FOT signal would see it that way ?

A central is surely only detectable when the FOT sensing passes through an open throat. Closing one's throat would cause the FOT signal sampling to detect the block even if it is a deliberate act to simulate an apnea.

Cheers

DSM

(Don't have an S9 to try it out :( )