Page 1 of 1

S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 5:31 am
by bigk
Does inserting a bigger SD card allow more data to be stored? Or is the 365/30/7 day limits a hard limit?

Someone had posted calculations of how much data a large card could hold but does the S9 actually allow more day's data to be stored?

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2010 6:57 am
by dave21
I believe it's a hard limitation so increasing the size of the SD card won't make a difference but I have several 16gb SDHC cards that I'm going to play with.

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:07 pm
by Zzz_Jim
Does the S9 SD Card work with a standard PC SD card reader, or is it necessary to buy the special ResMed version?

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:10 pm
by fiberfan
Zzz_Jim wrote:Does the S9 SD Card work with a standard PC SD card reader, or is it necessary to buy the special ResMed version?

The last 2 mornings I have read my card with a usb multi-card reader.

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2010 6:59 pm
by Prowest
fiberfan wrote:
Zzz_Jim wrote:Does the S9 SD Card work with a standard PC SD card reader, or is it necessary to buy the special ResMed version?

The last 2 mornings I have read my card with a usb multi-card reader.


I use the memory card reader built into my laptop...no problems.

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:59 pm
by gpk111
My camera works as a surrogate card reader. Just make sure the card is locked, since cameras have a bad habit of writing stuff to cards (and I don't mean pictures!).

Gerry

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:32 pm
by dsm
gpk111 wrote:My camera works as a surrogate card reader. Just make sure the card is locked, since cameras have a bad habit of writing stuff to cards (and I don't mean pictures!).

Gerry



BE CAREFUL if you use your camera. Some don't accept fat32 formatted cards (which the S9 SD card is).

Also if you were to format the card in the camera (I believe) you will not be able to use it in the S9 even
if the camera uses fat32 formatting.

One of our intrepid researchers told us that there is a special file created by the S9 on the SD card after
formatting, that identifies its location on the card with a code. If this special file gets moved (for example,
if copied off the SD card & back on to it, this special file gets read by the S9 & it then the S9 won't work
with that card unless it gets formatted again on the S9 ).

This is mainly a caustion to people who might think of doing a format on their camera & who aren't familiar
with the difference between fat16 & fat32 formatting & that some older cameras only work with fat16.

DSM

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:35 pm
by dsm
Zzz_Jim wrote:Does the S9 SD Card work with a standard PC SD card reader, or is it necessary to buy the special ResMed version?


The S9 SD card is what is known as SDHC (SD High Capacity) which means they can be very high capacity cards (like 64GB).
But some older PCs have trouble with SDHC cards so be careful :)

I had to add SDHC drivers to my older Win2000 PCs & also I believe early WinXP doesn't support it but WinXP at SP2 & SP3 do

DSM

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2010 8:23 pm
by bigk
Thanks DSM.

I used a new, blank SD card with Resscan to create the settings file to transfer to the S9 a week or so ago. The S9 arrived today and I removed the Resmed supplied SD card, switched it on and got a no SD card error, inserted the settings card and it recognised it immediately and the settings were applied to the S9 successfully. Seems Resscan 3.10 can set up the card as well as the S9 itself.

Re: S9 Data Card Capacity

PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:31 pm
by bigk
and this card downloaded into Resscan 3.10 this morning without any issue.