Sweet Smell after taking mask off?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
unityco

Sweet Smell after taking mask off?

Post by unityco » Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:35 pm

I'm fairly new to the whole CPAP thing (only been using just over a month.) One weird thing I've noticed is a 'sweet' smell for the first few breaths after I take my mask off in the morning. Is that common? Does anyone else experience something like that?

Thanks!

GumbyCT

Re: Sweet Smell after taking mask off?

Post by GumbyCT » Sat Jan 09, 2010 10:41 pm

I used to smell dust. I think it is because of breathing "clean" - filtered air all nite then the nose has to adjust to contaminants. My nose also runs for about an hour. Now I take a generic Claritin from Walmart every morning.

I have no doubt, how I sleep affects every waking moment.
I am making progress-NOW I remember that I can't remember
;)
If this isn’t rocket science why are there so many spaceshots?
Be your own healthcare advocate!

rise&shiner

Post by rise&shiner » Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:25 am

I et thaat small sweet smell. I have been using the same mask for the past 6 months I always thought it might be from the mask but who knows.

scotty

Post by scotty » Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:28 pm

If you're using a humidifier maybe your sense of smell is better when your nasal passages are moist. I don't know if that's true or not, but I notice the same thing when I use my humidifier.

EDIT: Also, when I'm using my CPAP I'm not congested -- no allergy symptoms -- so my sense of smell is in good shape until all the allergens get me.
Last edited by scotty on Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gained lasting notoriety for snoring at age four. Finally went to a sleep lab on June 23, 2005. Using CPAP since August 18, 2005.

BlackSpinner

Post by BlackSpinner » Sun Jan 10, 2010 1:34 pm