Husband not supportive

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
btesterman

Husband not supportive

Post by btesterman » Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:41 am

I am just beginning this journey and I hope you all won't get tired of my questions. I've done research but feel like I still know next to nothing at this point. I was diagnosed with OSA a week or so ago - stopped breathing 14.3 times per hour and 88% saturation rate (that's all I know at this point). I'm to go for the CPAP on Sunday night. The problem I have is that my husband has little faith in doctors (guess he thinks they're all out to make as much money as possible) and because he says he's never observed me not breathing he thinks this whole thing is a waste. He said last night he observed me for a long time and not once did I not have a steady breathing pattern. He says it is nothing to be concerned about. I asked him if he thought they falsified the results and he said no but I guess he feels that since I'm not gasping for breath (don't even wake up) it's no big deal and the whole thing is for a lot of people to make money off me. I don't have morning headaches, after a mug of coffee I feel fine until around noon then I go through yawning and very drowsy spells. The odd thing is that even though I feel like I want to sleep, I can't fall asleep for a nap and it takes hours for me to fall asleep at night. I guess once I go back to see my doctor I can get some documentation but for right now, even though he wouldn't forbid me to do this he thinks I'm over reacting to get the CPAP. I've read enough to know that OSA affects various organs and it is not just about how you "feel." I feel like it is an absolute blessing God provided when I found this group as you may be my only support.
Last edited by btesterman on Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:46 am, edited 1 time in total.

katherinefulmer

Re: Husband not supportive

Post by katherinefulmer » Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:18 am