Whats the best sleep meds?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
kyteacher

Whats the best sleep meds?

Post by kyteacher » Wed Oct 28, 2009 6:57 pm

I have been using the cpap machine for 2 months and still having trouble sleeping. Before cpap I was taking a muscle relaxer tizanidine (zanaflex) to help me sleep. I am currently still taking it, but it no longer is helping me sleep. It was prescribed by my arthritis/fibromyalgia doctor. I was wondering if there is a sleep aid that doesn't have negative effects in the morning. I realize that some sleeping meds require at least 8 hours of sleep, which is not possible for me. I'm lucky to get 7 hours of sleep (10:30-11:00p.m. - 5:30a.m.). A couple of years ago I tried a mild sleeping aid (can't remember name) and it took a couple of days for the effects to wear off. I don't want to experience that again. Any suggestions?

Muse-Inc

Re: Whats the best sleep meds?

Post by Muse-Inc » Wed Oct 28, 2009 7:11 pm

You need more sleep to recover what has been damaged by apnea. If you make more sleep a priority, you will heal more quickly. When that happens, you might not need as much sleep. Short-changing sleep now works against healing. Sorry, but that's the facts of apnea.

ResMed S9 range 9.8-17, RespCare Hybrid FFM
Never, never, never, never say never.

kteague

Post by kteague » Wed Oct 28, 2009 8:18 pm

Have you tried a small dose of OTC melatonin? However if your needs are severe it's not likely it will fully meet your needs. Is your sleep time due to your schedule or because that is as long as you can stay asleep? From personal experience, I am a big advocate of getting more than just maintenance sleep while in recovery.