Distilled water?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
sarasmyly

Distilled water?

Post by sarasmyly » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:05 pm

So this may be a stupid question, but I'm a newbie and was wondering...
Does it really matter what kind of water you put into your humidifier? My doctor told me I had to use distilled water. So I have been buying the big jugs of it and pouring it into my humidifier... but it would be much easier to just use the sink! Does distilled water really make a difference?
I appreciate the help!

CpapRRT

Re: Distilled water?

Post by CpapRRT » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:12 pm

Yes!!

You are breathing in that water.
Sink water usually has additives in it that you would not generally want to breath in. I have actually seen patients who have gotten bad infections in their lungs from using tap water.
I'd avoid it at all costs.
RRT/DME provider

drj130

Post by drj130 » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:15 pm

The biggest reason to use distilled water is to prevent the build up of hard water deposits in your humidifier. With some machines, it is very hard to clean the water tank.

I myself would rather spend the 89 cents on a jug of distilled water than the $26.50 it would cost to replace the tank on my machine.

Others have experenced problems with their lungs by not using distilled water. Once they went back those problems cleared up.

David

Look twice, save a life. You never know when you might see a motorcyclist.

sarasmyly

Post by sarasmyly » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:16 pm

Wow, I had no idea. Thanks so much! I'll make sure to always use my distilled water!
Thank you guys. Very helpful.

wrenn

Post by wrenn » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:23 pm

My humidifier tank looks as good as new after 3 years and not being washed often thanks to distilled water.

hobbs

Post by hobbs » Thu Aug 20, 2009 1:34 pm

CpapRRT wrote:Yes!!