Kenny's CPAP Thread

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
tattooyu

Kenny's CPAP Thread

Post by tattooyu » Mon Feb 09, 2009 1:03 pm

Hi everyone!

My name is Kenny, and I'm a newbie to the forum. This post will be my thread for updates on my own status. I am a member of another forum for pets where they like to keep everything for that pet in one thread. So, I figured, "Why not do it here?"

First, let me just say I also have panic disorder and IBS. I'm 5' 6", 223 lbs. and have a 17 1/2" neck. I'm prime for apnea! I went for my first sleep study on Friday. Ironically, I got very little sleep.

For the first while, I did not have the mask on and slept pretty well. About three hours into it, Bob--the sleep technician--came in to put on the mask. I don't know what brand mask/machine they had but is was a nasal mask and very comfortable.

However, the moment he put it on, I had a mini panic attack. I also got very shaky, which he said he has seen before. He turned down the pressure, but still, I felt like I was choking. When he asked me to describe it, I said I felt like I couldn't exhale. He said, "I know what that is, I'll be right back." When he came back, he had me put the mask on sitting up to get used to it. It was MUCH better. Not only did he lower the pressure a bit, but he also engaged the C-Flex option.

After a few minutes, and some breathing exercises (thanks to my therapist!), I was ready to try to sleep. I tossed and turned a bit but generally felt quite comfortable. After three more hours, I just couldn't sleep any more--not because I was uncomfortable--I just didn't need any more sleep. I felt quite refreshed despite the fact that he said I didn't really go into deep sleep, and Bob thought that my brain finally got a chance to rest uninterrupted even without the deep sleep.

After I woke up with the CPAP I felt:
  • My arms were tingling. Bob thought it could have been from the extra oxygen circulating.