New user needs advice

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
gadaisy

New user needs advice

Post by gadaisy » Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:00 pm

I am new to the world of CPAP. When I first found out I had sleep apnea (97 in 1 hour) I found out it would be more than a month before I could attend the class to receive my machine. I was scared to go to sleep. My DIL found a used machine for me on Craigslist and had it sent to me. Nice bi-pap with heated humidifier. No more snoring. Well last week I attended the class and came home with a Remstar M series. When I use it it makes a high pitch whine noise upon exhalation. It is something I simply can't ignore and I find myself hours later trying to go to sleep. Last night I hooked the old machine back up and no whine noise. Slept great. I called the sleep center and they told me to sleep with earplugs! I am to bring by the machine to have them take a look. I have no problem purchasing a bipap if that is the issue, how do I go about getting them to agree to a bipap rather than a cpap or can my machine be tweeked to stop the high pitch whine. I am clueless! Please Advise.

jules

Re: New user needs advice

Post by jules » Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:05 pm

what machine were you given by the sleep people?

what is your pressure setting?

was cflex enabled on the machine you got from the class?

what pressures is the bipap set to?

what machine is the bipap?

what mask are you using? is it the same mask you used for this bipap?

Write the exact names of the machines please. Include model number off the bottom of the m series.

Georgio

Post by Georgio » Fri Jan 23, 2009 6:15 pm