Jones Tubes and CPAP compatibility

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
mclnjam

Jones Tubes and CPAP compatibility

Post by mclnjam » Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:53 pm

I have advanced prostate cancer and the effects of long-term chemo have "fried" my tear ducts closed. Four weeks ago I had Jones tubes implanted. These are pyrex glass tubes that replace the original equipment. When I try to use my CPAP (nasal pillow type, pressure @15), air shoots out of the left tube. I must hold my eyes _tightly_ closed and, even then, some pressure builds up under the eyelid resulting in a "popping" effect. This is very frustrating and I can't see how this can ever work. The surgeon says he's never heard this complaint before (big help). Anyone familiar with this issue or have any suggestions?? BTW, I've experimented with ramping and still the problem exists.

rippersmom

Re: Jones Tubes and CPAP compatibility

Post by rippersmom » Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:03 am

Hi,

I'm a newbie to the CPAP world, but I would think using a full face mask might alleviate the problem. If the pressure of the air in your nose is causing the leak from the tear duct tube, you could breathe through your mouth with a full face mask and reduce the pressure going in your nose. I could be way off base on this, but it makes sense to me.

I wish you all the best in your battle with the big c, keep fighting.

Nancy in AZ
Retirement Rocks!

jules

Post by jules » Thu Jan 08, 2009 12:15 am

would this mask help? I really don't know but - total face mask made by Respironics - there are a couple other images at cpap.com

https://www.cpap.com/productpage/total- ... onics.html

rippersmom

Post by rippersmom » Sun Jan 11, 2009 6:09 pm