A MUST READ..BP corrected

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
needingu2

A MUST READ..BP corrected

Post by needingu2 » Fri Nov 14, 2008 2:00 pm

I have been wearing the cpap for 3 years and thought this worth reporting. My BP ran 210/98+ many times over the last 10 years, may meds tried and discarded, diet, exercised. I've tried it all.
A Ecogram was done 3 years ago and found my heart was enlarged on the right side. The Dr. said ,"we are seeing that in people who have apnea", so the test was ordered. I found my O2 was in the 70's at night. I started the treatment with the cpap, have been hating it for a long time and suddenly a couple months ago I found my BP was down considerably....this morning it was 139/68...
I have cut my medication in half (haven't told the Dr. yet) but I am sleeping 8-10 hrs feel rested. Also another sign that things are getting back to normal, I have been having vivid dreams which I had not had for years. I notice I yawn in the evening and realized that I had not been doing that for ages. You the stretch yawn relaxed feeling. Now maybe and maybe not that all these things are the results of wearing the mask each night ..all night I cannot not say but it sure looks positive. So WEAR THAT MASK AS DIRECTED. Start dreaming, yawning, BP down..I don't see a down side. My very best friend is now the mask without feeling embarassed..I do not cover my head with the sheet any more.

nedingu2

Re: A MUST READ..BP corrected

Post by nedingu2 » Fri Nov 14, 2008 2:57 pm

A follow-up Ecocardiogram is scheduled next Tues.....anxious to see what has changed. Update later.

dsm

Post by dsm » Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:59 pm

Needingu2,