Pap-cap II Review

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
mindy

Pap-cap II Review

Post by mindy » Sun Oct 26, 2008 5:38 pm

Hello all,

I'm new at writing reviews so I hope you'll bear with me. SleepGuy kindly let me join the trial so I've been experimenting with the revised Pap-Cap. As a caution: I use a variety of masks at different times so that limits the amount of time I've used a particular mask and the Pap-cap.

First, the Pap-cap is very comfortable. I had seen photos and had thought it would be too hot but the fabric is very light, and it fits my head very well. The chin strap feels much better than the neoprene Tiaras (Ruby and Topaz) chinstaps. It has a lighter "touch" and yet works very well.

Imho, the Pap-cap is a good solution for the Nasal-Aire II. Previously I had sewn velcro strips onto my Topaz chinstrap and that worked better than the supplied headgear. The Pap-cap works even better for me. About the only change I *might* make would be to sew the velcro strips onto the cap or strap. As it currently works, I have a tiny bit of trouble finding the best place that has velcro to attach the rip strips, so it gets a little messy. Even at that, it's still the best solution I've found.

As I see it, it can be used with any number of masks. I'm planning to try some others since it seems to reduce my "helmet head hair" in the morning.

Since this is a trial, I realize that the documentation is not ready for prime time. Bret did a good job in attempting to explain the intricacies of attachment. Unfortunately I'm a very visual person so I look forward to his drawing version!

The Pap-cap is now a permanent part of my xPAP "armamentarium" and I hope to use it with more of my masks as time goes on.

The bottom line pros: it's light, it's comfortable, it's not hot, it's easy to get on and the chin strap is better than any others I've tried.