BRIDGE OF NOSE PRESSURE SORE

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
ford8n47

Post by ford8n47 » Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:06 am

I have a Respironics Comfort Gel full face mask size large, On a Rem Star Pro M Series Machine with humidity. I'm new to CPAP and started therapy last thurs. What a difference! Only problem is that the bridge of my nose has a stage one pressure ulcer. Skin is reddened, sore, and even had small pustules forming this am. I readjusted the head straps to make them as light as possible but then the mask leaks right around my nose blowing air into my eyes. Last night I put 2 bandaids on with a 1x1 piece of gauze but the mask leaked. I called the DME supplier and he said this is common for ALL full face masks. He said re adjust the straps and and if that does not work then I may need to switch to a nasal pillow or just a nose mask with a chin strap. I tried those masks during my study and had to go back to a Full Face because I'm a mouth breather. Any solutions or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I was looking at the quattro full face but not sure if that one would do the same thing. Also sizing seems to be an issue with quattro. Thanks in advance!

Wulfman

Post by Wulfman » Mon Aug 11, 2008 9:38 am

Usually when a mask does that to the user, it's either the size is wrong and/or it's too tight.

Although the Comfort Gel nasal mask can be boiled and fitted, I just read that the full face version can't be.

Your DME is full of "hooey". My mask(s) have never done bodily harm to me.

If you want/need a full face mask, try the Ultra Mirage Full Face or the Quattro.
The UMFF is my first choice.

Den

(5) REMstar Autos w/C-Flex & (6) REMstar Pro 2 CPAPs w/C-Flex - Pressure Setting = 14 cm.
"Passover" Humidification - ResMed Ultra Mirage FF - Encore Pro w/Card Reader & MyEncore software - Chiroflow pillow
User since 05/14/05

deglorious

Post by deglorious » Mon Aug 11, 2008 10:30 am