very dry mouth

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
StephenS

very dry mouth

Post by StephenS » Sun Apr 24, 2005 1:25 pm

I have been using cpap for 9 months. Have Ultra mirage nose only mask. Use requip for periodic leg movement. Have very dry mouth, to the point where I have trouble speaking during the day. Have a humidifier on my cpap. Also have very difficult time falling asleep, but biggest issue is terrible dry mouth. Suspect I may be mouth breather. any advise.

LDuyer

Post by LDuyer » Sun Apr 24, 2005 1:37 pm

Hi and welcome!

I'm guessing you have a heated humidifier, right? And that still doesn't help? You might consider a full face mask if you do think you're a mouth breather. I understand there are special straps to help keep the mouth shut, but that's one alternative. Hopefully something will work for you, and hopefully others will have some more suggestions here.

Linda

Mikesus

Post by Mikesus » Sun Apr 24, 2005 1:46 pm

Has this happened from day one or is it a recent occurance?

As Linda said, a heated humidifier can make a bigger difference, however if you are strictly mouth breathing, it can only help so much.

Some other things to look at also, are:

Do you have nasal congestion? IF you do, that can cause mouth breathing.
Do you have abnormal anatomy? IE Deviated septum etc.

Tell us a bit more and we might be able to suggest something.

In the meantime one of the best solutions might be getting a full face mask. (Such as the Resmed Ultra Mirage).

bigcat

Post by bigcat » Sun Apr 24, 2005 3:49 pm

I have that problem as well. I have a heated humidifier, none of the abnormal stuff or other health conditions that could cause it.

My leak last night was .18 L/sec at max. pressure and .04 L/sec at 95th pressure which I believe is much to small for mouth breathing?

I have an Autoset spirit with heat set on 3.5 out of 6. Anything higher causes rainout.