always congested> nasal or full face?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
debstieb

always congested> nasal or full face?

Post by debstieb » Mon Apr 23, 2007 1:30 pm

I am fairly new to this, and have had a few good nights and a few bad ones.I am going to the doctor tomorrow and do not want to make a mistake w/mask selection. Last night I guess I took the mask off in my sleep and woke up extremely congested. I like the mask I am using and am worried that a full face might leak or be uncomfortable. I have a very hard time getting comfortable at night anyway, especially with all of this new stuff. Any suggestions?

Thnx,

Deb

bookwrm63

Post by bookwrm63 » Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:37 pm

Deb,

I've been using a FF mask since Jan. now. I struggled alot for the 1st few weeks. Now I have a horrible headcold and it has become my best friend! I have been sleeping so well at night and my numbers have never been so low. I can't explain it other than that I've finally made the right adjustments and my leaks have been 0 for 2 nights now. Also, my comfy new Pad A Cheeks make it even nicer!
I use the F & P 431 and my mother just got that one as well.
If you can tolerate nasal pillow type masks, you may want to try the Hybrid.

Good luck and welcome to the forum!

Mary

blarg

Post by blarg » Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:42 pm

Deb, you might notice that the width of your avatar is taking up a lot of space on the page. I took the liberty of resizing it:

Welcome to the forums!
I'm a programmer Jim, not a doctor!

DP

Post by DP » Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:46 pm

Deb, do you have a heated humidifier?

DP
RPSGT

debstieb

congestion

Post by debstieb » Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:58 am

Thank you for resizing the avatar for me Blarg. I thought it was going to be too large. I do have a humidifier, and it seems to help, but I have been congested for years, even with steroid nasal sprays, decongestants, and zyrtec. If I get a cold I will be congested for a month or more.

Thnx.