Is this pressure too high? Need help with Min/Max

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
peppers

Is this pressure too high? Need help with Min/Max

Post by peppers » Fri Jan 12, 2024 10:09 am

I'm a total newbie, started APAP this week with F30i mask but I had too much trouble with major leaks during the night so I've now switched to F20 Airfit last night and it worked very well. I'm definitely more awake today, compared to years of feeling like a zombie.

BUT I'm worried after seeing that my machine is ramping up to max pressure (I just had it set at 4/20 with the hope of narrowing that range down after looking at my data). I'm worried that running at 20 will burn out the motor. I'm also worried that because it ramps to 20 that APAP might not be right for me, even though it is definitely working to make me feel more rested.

Here is last night's data: https://imgur.com/a/Y23ejEH

Would you adjust my min/max pressure range?
Is ramping up to 20 bad?
Anything else worrying about my data?

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Dog Slobber

Re: Is this pressure too high? Need help with Min/Max

Post by Dog Slobber » Fri Jan 12, 2024 11:54 am

Having your machine spend most of the night, at or close to its maximum (20cm), will not burn out the motor.

Some thoughts:
  • "Ramping", up to 20cm isn't bad, but it shows a lot more pressure may be required to control your OSA, than most.
    • ps: don't use the term "Ramping". Although that's perfectly fine in the English language, Ramp has a very specific (and different) meaning in the context of CPAP machines. The ambiguity can cause confusion.
  • Spending a lot of time at 20, could also mean your AutoSet may not deliver as much pressure as you need. You might need to upgrade to an AirCurve (BiLevel), capable of delivering up to 25cm. But we won't know until you're better optimized.