Using Cpap during a Vertigo attack

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Dori

Using Cpap during a Vertigo attack

Post by Dori » Tue Dec 01, 2020 1:53 pm

I've been using cpap for about 4 years. I experienced for the first time, a spinning episode of vertigo a little over 2 weeks ago while sleeping. I went to ER, had CT scan, EKG. Scan showed mucosal thickening of bilateral sphenoid sinuses and ethmoid air cells and mucous retention cysts in both maxillary sinuses. I've continued to use my machine every night since, but I'm still having residual dizziness and balance issues and yesterday I had another spinning episode, it was brief but was so off balance I had to have help to walk to bathroom and bed and still need help today. Should I continue to use my cpap, or could the air blowing through be worsening the problem? Also, if anyone has suffered from vertigo or bppv, do you have any suggestions as how to cope, or what steps to take next? This is so scary and debilitating.

Julie

Re: Using Cpap during a Vertigo attack

Post by Julie » Tue Dec 01, 2020 3:01 pm

You should be referred to a neurologist, pref. one with some sleep disorders experience... we're not doctors and I think it would be irresponsible to guess at things here, even if someone's had a similar experience.

Dori

Post by Dori » Tue Dec 01, 2020 3:42 pm

Thank you for your reply. I've tried to schedule an appointment with a neurologist and also an ENT, but in my area, due to covid, there is a 4 month waiting list to get in. I was hoping for some suggestions and information in the meantime while I'm waiting. I apologize if I've come to the wrong group for help. I've seen many helpful answers to questions here.

Julie

Post by Julie » Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:04 pm