Question for the Wisdom of the Group on Power Failures

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
RobertS975

Question for the Wisdom of the Group on Power Failures

Post by RobertS975 » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:57 am

OK, as some of you may remember, I am a recently retired physician who through almost 40 years of medical practice, always carried a healthy appreciation and respect for all that medical science did not know as well as an understanding and realization that much of what we think we know will turn out to be wrong. Before I was officially diagnosed over 5 years ago, I used to try to calm my several CPAP using friends who would panic during various prolonged (many hours to days) power failures from winter blizzards or tropical storms. My argument went along the lines of this: you had sleep apnea for years before you were diagnosed and treated, so the risk of a night or two off treatment, I felt, was a negligible for an adverse event.