what keeps the airway open on expiration?

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
tyrinryan

what keeps the airway open on expiration?

Post by tyrinryan » Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:17 am

One has the PAP pressure (say 10cm's) and you have the expiration pressure (I guess). Do they cancel out leaving the expiration pressure to do all the work of the "expiring" and keeping the airway open. How high is the usual expiration pressure? How does all this work---- on expiration?

jimbud

Re: what keeps the airway open on expiration?

Post by jimbud » Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:48 am

Diaphragm rises.
Lungs compress.
Air moves out and vents through mask vents.
Pressure stays the same.
More or less.

I am no expert.
Others may show up and tell me I am wrong.
Happens to me every once and awhile.
Then I will learn something new just like you. :)
JPB

Goofproof

Post by Goofproof » Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:57 am

Sucking water through a hose tends to suck it closed, pushing pressure out of the hose tends to keep it open! Jim
Use data to optimize your xPAP treatment!

"The art of medicine consists in amusing the patient while nature cures the disease." Voltaire

jimbud

Post by jimbud » Thu Jul 04, 2019 11:07 am

Goofproof wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 10:57 am
Sucking water through a hose tends to suck it closed, pushing pressure out of the hose tends to keep it open! Jim
See, I told you someone would show up and give us a better explanation. :D
Thank you my brother in the KISS principle. :wink:
JPB

raisedfist

Post by raisedfist » Thu Jul 04, 2019 11:35 am

tyrinryan wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 8:17 am
One has the PAP pressure (say 10cm's) and you have the expiration pressure (I guess). Do they cancel out leaving the expiration pressure to do all the work of the "expiring" and keeping the airway open. How high is the usual expiration pressure? How does all this work---- on expiration?