Best APAP for camping/ backpacking

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
colomom

Best APAP for camping/ backpacking

Post by colomom » Wed May 08, 2019 5:26 pm

Brief history:
Not a total newbie to the world of sleep apnea, my son has been using an APAP for over a year (the equipment listed in my profile is my son's).
I suspected that I may have sleep apnea and was finally able to convince my PCP to order overnight oximetry to investigate. The oximetry wasn't pretty (ODI 35, basal O2 88.8%, <88% 137 min, <80% 11 min). The pulmonologist I recently followed up with told me that based on the oximetry he was certain that I have severe sleep apnea, I am scheduled to do an in home sleep study in a little over a week for an official diagnosis. Once the sleep study results come in the doc plans to order an APAP and will follow up in 30 days to titrate based on the machine's readings.

I love the camping and the outdoors and am a Boy Scout leader. Camping for me is generally backpacking in Colorado at high elevations (sleeping at 7,000-12,000 feet). I have searched the forum on this topic and quickly become overwhelmed by the wonderful, detailed information; it is to much for my mind to comprehend at this time.
So to my question:
What is the best primary APAP machine for backpacking/ camping? At this point I am overwhelmed by reading about battery options, but my main takeaway is it will be expensive. APAPs aren't that heavy so I don't plan to invest hundreds of dollars in a travel machine to shave off a little bit of weight.
The only machine I have experience with is my son's Dreamstation. It appears to be lighter than the Resmed, but it seems most users prefer Resmed over Respironics. I've read that removing the humidifier helps with conserving power, when we've tried running my son's Dreamstaion without the humidifier it is quite loud, is the Resmed machine any quieter than the dreamstaion without the humidifier?