Having a Cold & Sleep Anxiety - CPAP Not Easy Sometimes

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
JCWarrior

Having a Cold & Sleep Anxiety - CPAP Not Easy Sometimes

Post by JCWarrior » Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:25 am

I've been using CPAP for almost 4 years. During that time there have only been 3 nights that I didn't use CPAP.

One was during a power outage last summer. The other 2 times have been within the last 4 weeks and were primarily because I'm experiencing insomnia (sleep anxiety).

I don't know why, but for the last 10 years or so I've experienced anxiety maybe every 2-3 years (sometimes longer between) that seems to manifest itself as a sleeping disorder. These "events" have always happened during times of high stress (parent passing, job stress, etc) but just recently it happened when I felt like there was really nothing to be stressed about.

However, I was putting pressure on myself to stick with a high intensity 5 week - 6 days per week workout program and I'm pretty sure that triggered it.

Anyway, when this happens I just can't relax and go to sleep. Then I get anxious about sleep and it causes me to be unable to relax and fall asleep. Classic insomnia, I know.

Over the years I've used low doses of Clonazepam, for short periods of time, at bedtime to help get me back to normal. Then I stop using it and all is well for years.

I'm sure there's some underlying "general anxiety" as I've somewhat developed some claustrophobia, especially when lying down. It's probably all related and I think it may even be a result of undiagnosed sleep apnea for many years. I've had CBT to help with this in the past. It has helped but it gets tiring nonetheless.

Wearing a CPAP (Nasal Pillows) sometimes just adds to this anxiety.