Joggin/exercise difficulty

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
Rhowe004

Joggin/exercise difficulty

Post by Rhowe004 » Sun May 13, 2018 12:38 pm

Hello everyone, this is my first time here and just started using my CPAP last week. I have searched the depths of google to find an answer to my question but no luck.

I am 32 years old, in decent shape and a non smoker. I’m a little heavier than I’d like to be, but I’ve been avidly lifting weights and jogging since my early 20’s. Prior to using the CPAP, my only difficulties with jogging was occasional cramping and muscle fatigue, but I’ve never really had problems breathing. After using the CPAP, I went jogging and felt like I had just smoked 3 packs of cigarettes. I became out of breath VERY quickly, had to stop several times to take a break, and at the end I felt like my lungs were on fire. I’m also experiencing shortness of breath during the day while doing my normal routine.

Is this normal? My apnea was pretty severe, so I’m guessing that my body is adjusting to being able to breathe at night, but I just want to make sure it isn’t anything to be concerned about.

jnk...

Re: Joggin/exercise difficulty

Post by jnk... » Mon May 14, 2018 7:29 am

Shortness of breath during the day and burning sensations in the chest are, to the best of my knowledge, unlikely to be related to the use of CPAP at night and so should be filed under things to report to one's doc as possible symptoms of other issues.
-Jeff (AS10/P30i)

Accounts to put on the foe list: Me. I often post misleading, timewasting stuff.

TASmart

Post by TASmart » Mon May 14, 2018 8:48 am

Definitely not normal. See your Dr. Sounds like asthma attacks o me, but too little data yields poor results most often.
All posts reflect my own opinion based on my experience and reading.
Your mileage may vary
Past performance is no guarantee of future results
Consult with your own physician as people very

Rhowe004