Progress Report DreamStation ASV

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
JDS74

Progress Report DreamStation ASV

Post by JDS74 » Tue May 08, 2018 10:59 am

Just got a new DreamStation ASV machine and have been using it for about a week. Some observations when comparing it with the previous System One 960 I've been using for over 4 years.

1) The algorithm appears to be somewhat different. Setting the parameters to exactly the same values and the machine responds differently. In particular, the inhale-exhale pressures appear to be a little different - not as much differential.

2) The VS detection system is acutely more sensitive. Now it reports at a rate of 25 or so per hour where the 960 rarely reported anything. Sometimes my mask makes a very quiet bubbling sound in the mask itself and that seems to be the source of the VS report. It is such a quiet sound that I had to listen very carefully to be sure. Its not water in the hoses (I have three in my setup) but something inside the mask that I haven't tracked down.

3) The humidifier tank, while more convenient for cleaning is less convenient for taking in and out. Not a huge deal.

4) The pulse-oximetry system is completely different. Respironics has switched from Masimo to Nonin. It appears the Masimo sensors have a history of failing in odd ways. Mine failed after 3 years and reported huge spikes and drops in SpO2 perhaps every minute or so, well outside any possible actual variation.

5) Ultra-fine filters are now a new design and aren't available from any third party manufacturers. They are available only from Respironics. This ups my cost from less than $0.10 each to about $1.00 each. Not a huge deal but irritating all the same.

6) The most recent version of Encore that I have does read the card properly but will not ever recognize that the card is assigned to me. Going through the assign the card to this patient doesn't help. On the good side, the data goes to the right place.