05021959Ka

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
kiminabmw1

05021959Ka

Post by kiminabmw1 » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:09 am

Hi everyone, I'm new here. Please pardon my lack of knowledge, as I am new to CPAP. I just picked up Respironics Dream Machine last Tuesday, with their Nuance Pro Nasal Pillows. I used the machine for 3 nights, 7 hours the first night, 8 hours the second night, and 7 hours the third night with an AHI of 3.7, then 3.2, then 3.9. The pressure range my machine was set at is 8-11. I took my machine in to have the "flex" added to it on Friday, not sure if that is the right term, but I wanted some relief of pressure when I exhale. My choices were flex of 1, 2 or 3. I opted for 2. Last night I used the PAP again, but only for 2 hours (first time using it after the "flex" was added) and my AHI was 13.8. What do you think happened?? I suppose I should say the reason I didn't use the PAP for 2 nights (after the 1st 3 nights of using it) was I felt so bloated up with gas/air I was horribly uncomfortable for 2 days, and am having heart palpitations. Sorry for the long post, but my main question is why do you think I went from an AHI in the 3's for three nights in a row, to 13.8 and the only difference was having the "flex" added, and again I apologize if that is the wrong term. Thanks so much for your time and knowledge. Kim

ChicagoGranny

Re: 05021959Ka

Post by ChicagoGranny » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:29 am

kiminabmw1 wrote:... my main question is why do you think I went from an AHI in the 3's for three nights in a row, to 13.8 and the only difference was having the "flex" added
This question can't be answered without seeing the data.

Here is only a wild guess:
A flex setting of 2 lowers the pressure on exhale by roughly 2 cm. It could be that the pressure on exhale is no longer high enough to maintain the patency of your airway.
The suggestion is to provide us some data from the free Sleepyhead software: