Starting Journey Before Sleep Study

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
vaironltemp

Starting Journey Before Sleep Study

Post by vaironltemp » Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:53 pm

Hello Everyone!

I have been reading this forum for the past 2 days and was quite literary about to cry, because I saw so many people who had similar experiences to mine in the past.

A bit of background on me, I am a male university student, slightly overweight, early 20s. I have been having a couple of health issues that did not have much explanation, especially since lab tests were normal, but I never considered it to be sleep apnea. However, over the recent 1.5 year I have noticed my headaches have increased and over the past 3 weeks I have had headaches nearly every day which start when I wake up and decrease afterwards. I was having these at the beginning of the years, changed my glasses prescription and still get kept getting them. I also noticed that I sometimes woke up gasping for air, but this occurred only once or twice a month so I paid no attention to it.

After reading how people with sleep apnea had seen high blood pressure levels, which I have seen increase over the past year, and the migraines they experience, I started to suspect sleep apnea a lot more. I understand that until I get a sleep study I cannot confirm if I have sleep apnea at all or other sleep disorders, but I believe trying a CPAP machine could be beneficial.

My main problem is that I have no health insurance, I will be getting it in about 2 months. I know having no health insurance in the US is horrible, but I was in a tough situation and could not buy it at the first half of the year. I am willing to do a sleep study once I have the insurance, but just need to find something that helps me as soon as possible, because these daily headaches are affecting my performance on my classes and my job.