Bunch of CAs

General Discussion on any topic relating to CPAP and/or Sleep Apnea.
atipene

Bunch of CAs

Post by atipene » Tue Jul 11, 2017 2:30 am

Hi CPAPTalk Forum,

I'm new to CPAP therapy and self diagnosed. I've been using my Phillips System One Auto for 2 weeks and got my AHI from 30 to less than 8. I get a bunch (5-6) of CAs normally an hour after I go to sleep and and hour before I wake.

Does anyone know what this pattern could mean and how I could treat it with my CPAP? I am running between 8 and 10 pressure.

Thanks

Andrew

LSAT

Re: Bunch of CAs

Post by LSAT » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:35 am

These are called "sleep/awake junk". You are usually restless during that time and tend to hold your breath for short periods while turning over and moving, These are also known as "clear airway" events. Unless you have very large clumps of CAs with a high AHI, there is no need to worry about them. You have a few...not a bunch. Yours are insignificant. You cannot treat these CAs.

ajack

Post by ajack » Tue Jul 11, 2017 4:49 am

There are also pressure induced CA for new cpap users, these will settle down within 12 weeks.

robysue

Post by robysue » Tue Jul 11, 2017 12:37 pm

xxyzx wrote:
ajack wrote:There are also pressure induced CA for new cpap users, these will settle down within 12 weeks.
=======

sometimes they do sometimes they dont
The fact that sometimes pressure induced CAs in new CPAP users do resolve within a few weeks (i.e. 2-3 months) is a GOOD reason to wait to see if they resolve, particularly if the number of CAs is not too excessive. It's also worth noting that learning to sleep with an ASV can be even more challenging than learning to sleep with a CPAP/APAP. That's another good reason to wait to see if CAs resolve within the first 3 months or so ..

xxyzx wrote:about 35% of people will not get used to the pressure and the centrals will not stop
those folks will need an ASV